Teams confirmed for the World Heli Challenge

It’s official.  It’s going to be snowboarders versus skiers in this year’s new head to head format for the World Heli Challenge with Jake Koia and Ryan Tiene aka “Team Mates” now announced as the second team in the competition. 

Koia and Tiene will take on a northern hemisphere pairing, “Team Vacation”, US skier Essex Prescott and Canadian skier Dylan Siggers who secured their slot via the People’s Choice poll in the new online entry format for the event last week.

Friends and fans of the World Heli Challenge gathered at Fitzpatricks pub in Wanaka, NZ to view all the entry videos and learn the confirmed lineup for the heli-accessed freeride event that kicks off Sunday.

Each team has a photographer and filmer joining them in a shootout format seeking to ride the best big mountain and freestyle lines and create the best 5 minute edit of their experience to take out the top prize of $10,000.

In a change of location from its traditional Wanaka base, this year the World Heli Challenge is staging out of scenic Lake Ohau Lodge for the 9-day event window and teams will be flown into the ranges surrounding the legendary Aoraki Mt Cook with Wilderness Heliski.

World Heli Challenge founder, director and filmer/photographer Tony “Harro” Harrington is excited about the new format for the competition this year and the line up that has been selected,

“We were blown away by the entries for the “Call Up” and how strong the response was from freeriders around the world to the changed format,” said Harro

“I’m so happy to see we’ve kept the mix of skiers, boarders, locals and internationals that the World Heli Challenge is famous for.  With just two teams and a new head-to-head shootout setup it’s a different ballgame.  The two teams are really closely matched so I’m pumped to see what they throw down in the next week.”

The World Heli Challenge starts on Sunday 7 September until 15 September with the winners announced at the iON Showcase Awards night at ‘The Find’ in Queenstown on the night of Thursday 18 September.

To view the “Call Up” entry videos and find out more about the event visit

Winning team video entries are here: